July 18, 2024, 4:51 pm

20 Films Receive Grants

sarakhon desk
  • Update Time : Thursday, June 13, 2024
The government provides grants every year to encourage film production. In line with this tradition, a notification has been issued for grants to 20 films for the fiscal year 2023-24. Among these, the producers of 16 films will receive 7.5 million taka each, while the producers of the remaining 4 films will receive 5 million taka each.
On Wednesday (June 12), a notification was issued by Saiful Islam, Deputy Secretary of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. The notification included details of the films selected for grants.
It stated that in order to provide government sponsorship and support for the production of full-length films with themes of independence and the Liberation War, human values, and artistic quality, the “Full-Length Film Grant Committee” has provided a list of grants recipients based on unanimous decisions.
Out of the 20 films, each of the 16 films will receive a grant of 7.5 million taka, while the remaining 4 films will receive 5 million taka each. Among these four, two are children’s films and two are documentaries.
In the Liberation War category, “Pakistaney Bondijibon” and “Chhoa” received grants. “Pakistaney Bondijibon” is directed and produced by Sajedul Islam. “Chhoa” is directed and produced by Rakibul Hasan.
In the children’s category, Raied Morshed received a grant for the film “Ad-bhoot,” and Niamul Mukta received a grant for “Chalonbiler Manik.” Taokir Islam will direct “Ad-bhoot. .” On the other hand, Niamul Mukta will both produce and direct “Chalonbiler Manik.” In the documentary category, “Nomads of the North” received a grant, directed and produced by Piplu R Khan. The other documentary, “Kaler Jatra,” has Rasel Rana Doja as both producer and director.
In the general category, the following films received grants: “Mihin Gatha,” produced and directed by Mirza Shabnam Ferdousi; “Thikana,” produced and directed by Jahangir Hossain Babar; “Suraiya,” produced by Fazle Hasan Shisir and directed by Robiul Alam Robi; “Joya,” produced and directed by Golam Mostafa; “Lobh,” produced by Pinky Akter and directed by Sanjay Samaddar; “Shokhi Rongomala,” produced and directed by N Rashed Chowdhury; “Jaat,” produced by Shelly Kader and directed by Nargis Akter; “Moynar Char,” produced by Sumon Parvez and directed by ZM Mostafizur Rahman Babu; “Kalbela,” produced and directed by Ibrahim Khalil Mishuk (Mishuk Moni); “Seyana,” produced by Manoj Pramanik and directed by Iqbal Hasan Khan; “Azirun,” produced and directed by Gitali Hasan; “Postmortem,” produced by Md. Nizam Uddin and directed by Arif Siddiqui; “Ha Ghore,” produced by Nur Monir and directed by Nasrullah Mansur; and “Muktijuddher Chetana,” produced and directed by Dewan Nazrul.
Among the six short films, two received grants in the Liberation War category. These are “Aparajito 71,” produced and directed by Moin Uddin Pathan, and “Joldasi,” produced and directed by Md. Abdul Khaleq (Khaleq Sadman). In the children’s category, “Dalimgarh O Talpukurer Kichha,” produced and directed by Samir Ahmed, received a grant. In the general category, three films received grants: “Mautali Pithar Ghran” by Juweriyah Mau, “Phoenix Pakhi” by SM Kamrul Ahsan, and “Abu Ibrahim’s Death” by Mohammad Mamun Sobhan. Each short film received a grant of 2 million taka.

Please Share This Post in Your Social Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More News Of This Category